Diablo 4 Paragon Board System Guide

Diablo 4 Paragon Board System Guide

Delving into the dark and treacherous world of Sanctuary in “Diablo 4”, players find themselves in a labyrinth of customization, progression, and character development, all of which are rooted in the integral system called the Paragon Board.

Undoubtedly, Diablo 4 Paragon takes role-playing to another level, specifically when players pass level 50, providing a means to significantly continue their characters’ progression.

The Paragon Board in Diablo 4 is a central aspect that enables gamers to make influential decisions when distributing points, which can greatly affect their character’s build.

What Is The Paragon Board in Diablo 4?

What Is The Paragon Board in Diablo 4

The Paragon Board in Diablo 4 is a complex grid with six diverse node types, which comes into play once a character surpasses level 50. It’s an avenue for players to further advance their characters in a post-campaign progression setting, offering the thrill of limitless opportunities. The Paragon Board’s structure houses an impressive layout, with each class boasting eight unique Paragon Boards to pick from, tailoring progression to individual playstyles.

In addition, the introduction of the Board Preview Mode provides an interactive experience for players, enabling them to observe the layout of a chosen board and rotate it, thereby optimizing their path and customizing their character’s build. Hence, Diablo 4 Paragon doesn’t just allow players to strengthen their characters but also strategize their progression path.

Unlocking The Paragon System

Transitioning from the regular leveling system to the Paragon system happens after reaching the formidable level 50. After attaining this milestone, players start earning Paragon points. These points are earned every 25% of a level, which essentially means gaining 4 Paragon points for every full level after 50. The Paragon points are a precious resource gained not just by leveling, but also by accomplishing Renown and finding Altars of Lilith.

Related Article:  Slaking Aspect Diablo 4: Location

The Renown system has been devised to give players a sense of achievement, with each region of Sanctuary granting an additional 4 Paragon points upon reaching the final milestone. These points can add up to 225 if all objectives are met.

Furthermore, developers have strived to make every bit of gameplay meaningful, even if played for shorter durations. The Paragon system’s finite nature allows a total of 220 Paragon points to be earned and allocated, signifying the cap for the Paragon Board system.

Video Guide by DM: Diablo Immortal

Paragon Nodes

The Paragon Board starts with different rarities of nodes namely Common, Magic, and Rare. As players progress, they reach the end of a Paragon Board, which unlocks a unique node called the Gate node. This node acts as a bridge, attaching another board to the current passive tree, thereby enhancing the character’s build.

Each Diablo 4 class comes with its distinct starting board, hosting unique node types. The Normal Nodes form the foundational links, boosting an Attribute (Strength, Intelligence, Willpower, or Dexterity) by +5. Magic Nodes take it a notch higher, providing larger amounts of Attributes or granting power affix bonuses.

Rare Nodes are even more advanced, combining 2 Attributes and a Bonus, but requiring a minimum Attribute threshold to unlock. Finally, the Legendary Nodes determine the overarching theme of the board, and they connect one Paragon Board to another.

Glyph Sockets and Glyphs

Glyph Sockets and Glyphs

Glyphs, these powerful enhancements, become accessible post-level 50, designed to be placed in a Glyph Socket on a Paragon Board. The purpose of these Glyphs is to actively empower nodes surrounding the Glyph Socket or gain additional bonuses based on the surrounding nodes. Glyphs are thus socketable passives that add or modify nearby Paragon nodes, contributing significantly to the build’s potency.

Related Article:  Runeworker's Conduit Aspect Diablo 4: Location

These Glyphs come in various rarities, with Magic Glyphs starting with a radius of 2 and Rare Glyphs beginning with a radius of 3. Furthermore, these Glyphs are categorized into Attribute Glyphs, Rarity Glyphs, and Stat Magnitude Glyphs. They can be obtained from fallen foes, with areas hosting a high density of enemies making good farming spots.

The upgrading process for Glyphs takes place at the culmination of Nightmare Dungeons, amplifying their effects and levels. Each Glyph upgrade slightly enhances its effects and expands the effective radius by one node every 15 levels. Interestingly, the only place where Glyphs can be upgraded is the altar that appears after successfully completing a Nightmare Dungeon.


In summary, the Paragon Board in Diablo 4 is an innovative system designed to further character development and customization beyond the conventional leveling system. Whether it’s the acquisition of Paragon points, the selection of Paragon Boards, or the strategic allocation of these points across various nodes and Glyphs, every decision in the Paragon system affects the overall gameplay experience.

The Paragon Board not only offers an exciting post-campaign progression system but also adds a strategic layer to the character building process in Diablo 4. Therefore, understanding and mastering the Paragon Board becomes a vital aspect of enhancing your gaming experience in the world of Diablo 4.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *